NRL 2 years ago

Cronk, Taumalolo win Dally M medal

  • Cronk, Taumalolo win Dally M medal

    SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 28: Cooper Cronk of the Melbourne Storm and Jason Taumalolo of the North Queensland Cowboys pose after being announced joint winners of the 2016 Dally M Medal during the 2016 Dally M Awards at Star City on September 28, 2016 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

Melbourne halfback Cooper Cronk and North Queensland forward Jason Taumalolo have been crowned joint Dally M medallists for the 2016 NRL season.

It is the second time in the event's history two players jointly claimed the award after Cowboys star Johnathan Thurston and former Parramatta icon Jarryd Hayne shared the stage in 2014.

Cronk's prize night continues a historic week that includes joining the exclusive 300-game club, as well as helping the Storm qualify for Sunday's grand final against Cronulla.

You might also like

In a thrilling countdown at The Star in Sydney, Cronk also becomes just the eighth player to win the medal on multiple occasions, adding to his 2013 gong.

Taumalolo became the first forward to wear the medal since Storm skipper Cameron Smith achieved the feat in 2006.

Cronk joins a rare group of players to wear the medallion on more than one occasion, joining Peter Sterling, Mick Potter, Cliff Lyons, Andrew Johns, Miller, Thurston and Hayne.

Thurston won the award a record fourth time last season.

Melbourne dominated the positional awards, with Cronk (halfback), Smith (hooker) and Jesse Bromwich (prop) taking out three of the nine positional gongs.

Ricky Stuart took out coach of the year for his role in waking up the sleeping giant in Canberra, leading them to within one game of a decider.

Gold Coast 21-year-old Ash Taylor held off a late push from Penrith teenager Nathan Cleary for rookie of the year, while the Raiders' Jarrod Croker won captain of the year.

Kezie Apps took out the Dally M female of the year.


Fullback: James Tedesco (Wests Tigers)

Wing: Josh Mansour (Penrith)

Centre: Joey Leilua (Canberra)

Five-eighth: James Maloney (Cronulla)

Halfback: Cooper Cronk (Melbourne)

Lock: Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland)

Second-rower: Matt Gillett (Brisbane)

Prop: Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne)

Hooker: Cameron Smith (Melbourne)

0 0
please wait...